Sony Open Tournament History

The event began in 1985 thanks to the efforts of Butch Buchholz, a former professional tennis player who has done countless work for the sport following his playing days.

Wanting to create a "Winter Wimbledon", Buchholz organized the first Sony Open tournament to include the referee from Wimbledon. Additionally, he was able to bring in many of the best tennis stars by offering a substantial pot of prize money that was only bested by the US Open and Wimbledon.

Throughout its history, Americans have dominated the singles tournament. Tim Mayotte won the first Sony Open, but legendary tennis star Andre Agassi has been the most impressive, winning the tournament 8 times between 1990 and 2003. Andy Roddick was the last American to win the title in 2010.

Sony Open Location:

Played in Miami, the Sony Open basks in the warm spring sunshine of South Florida.

Sony Open Court:

The Sony Open is played at the Tennis Center at Crandon Park and uses a hard surface.

Sony Open Traditions:  
• The Sony Open has one of the largest fields of any major professional tournament and includes 96 men and 96 women.
• The Sony Open has always been at the forefront of modern technology, with it being the first American tournament to adopt replays and challenges in 2006.
• The Sony Open is also has a fun party atmosphere and a fashion show with famous DJ's on the center court!

Recent Historic Moments of the Sony Open:  
• Novak Djokovic won his fourth Sony Open title in 2014, defeating Rafael Nadal in the final.
• The Sony Open has been a trying place for Maria Sharapova, most recently in a quarterfinal match against Serena Williams in 2014. Spending several years growing up in Florida, she will surely want a victory near her home.
• World No. 1 and World No. 2 in the ATP and WTA battled against each other for the 2014 Sony Open titles.

Current Champions:
2014 Men's Single: Novak Djokovic
2014 Women's Single: Serena Williams
2014 Men's Double: Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan
2014 Women's Double: Martina Hingis, Sabine Lisicki

2013 Men's Single: Andy Murray
2013 Women's Single: Serena Williams
2013 Men's Double: Aisam-ul-Haq Qureshi, Jean-Julien Rojer
2013 Women's Double: Nadia Petrova, Katarina Srebotnik